SEDGEFIELD TOWN COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING

Minutes of the proceedings of the SPECIAL

MEETING of the Sedgefield Town Council held at 6.45 pm on

Monday 16th June 2014 in the Council Offices, Advice &

Information Centre, Sedgefield.

Present Cllr. Chris Lines (Chairman)

CIIr. Mel Carr (Vice-Chairman) and

Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, David Brown, Mark Cant, Vanessa

Carmichael, Rebecca Hagan, Maxine Robinson, Ian Sutherland, Alf

Walton, Dudley Waters, Gloria Wills, Lynne Dentith.

Officer Jane Ayre (Town Clerk)

1. Apologies

Cllr John Robinson

2. Election of Mayor

Cllr Maxine Robinson stated their neither she nor Cllr John Robinson had received papers for this meeting. The Clerk reported that all papers had been posted 1st Class or delivered by hand on Wednesday 11th June 2014. Other Cllrs present confirmed they had received their papers for this meeting.

Cllr Dudley Waters stated that it was his understanding that as no public notice had been displayed for this meeting therefore the meeting could not go ahead. The Clerk reported that CDALC had advised that this does not invalidate the meeting.

Cllr Maxine Robinson stated that she wanted to see copies of all previous papers in relation to the decision to hold this meeting and asked for the meeting to be cancelled and re-scheduled. Cllr Chris Lines stated that such information could not be provided at this meeting and that in his role as Chair his decision was to continue the meeting to elect a Mayor. Cllr Maxine Robinson stated that she would be seeking legal advice.

Cllr Chris Lines outlined the background to the Special Meeting and apologized to

Council, and specifically to Cllrs Gloria Wills and Mel Carr, for the error he made in the Annual Meeting that led to the need to call a Special Meeting.

Cllr Chris Lines moved the meeting along to the election of Mayor for Sedgefield Town Council for 2014/15 with two candidates, Cllrs Mel Carr and Gloria Wills, standing for the position. A vote took place based upon a show of hands as per the Council's Standing Orders.

RESOLVED:

i) Cllr Mel Carr elected as Mayor.

The Chairman thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting at 6.55p.m.