## **Sedgefield Town Council**

You are hereby summoned to attend the Annual General Meeting of the Sedgefield Town Council which is to be held at 7 pm on Monday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2022, in the Sedgefield Parish Hall

### **Agenda**

- 1. Election of Chairman of Sedgefield Town Council
- 2. Declaration of Acceptance of Office
  To receive the Acceptance of Office from the newly elected Chairman of the Town Council.
- 3. Apologies
- 4. Election of the Vice-Chairman of the Town Council
- 5. Election of the Mayor of the Town Council
- 6. To confirm the Chairman's Allowance as £1,000 for 2022 / 23 (In pursuance of Section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972)
- 7. Procedures
  - a) To adopt
    - i) Standing Orders for 2022 / 23
    - ii) Financial Regulations 2022 / 23
    - iii) Delegation Scheme 2022 / 23
    - iv) Council Debt Policy 2022 / 23
    - v) Gifts and Hospitality Policy 2022 / 23
    - vi) Code of Conduct 2022 / 23
  - b) To re-affirm usage of the General Power of Competence

(General Power of Competence (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012)

- 8. Committees
  - a) Policy & Resources (P&R)

Chairman:

Vice-Chairman:

Members:

b) Environment

Chairman:

Vice-Chairman:

Members:

#### c) Community Development & Engagement

Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:

#### d) Sedgefield Extra

Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:

#### e) Community Chest

Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:

#### f) Personnel

Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:

- 9. Representatives to External Groups and Organizations (as over)
- 10. To confirm the current and proposed Working Groups
- 11. To approve the dates and times of the meetings for the forthcoming year
- 12. Nomination For Honorary Freemen Report by Cllrs Allan Blakemore and Mel Carr

T. J. ayre.

Town Clerk: 4th May 2021

External Body	Representatives in	Representatives for 2022/23
	2021/22	
SCA Executive	Cllr. Allan Blakemore	1
Sedgefield Twinning Assoc.	Cllrs. Stephen Winter and	2
	Mavis Wayman	
Crime Prevention / N. Watch	Clirs Allan Blakemore, Allan	3
	Nicholson and Stephen	
	Winter	
EDRC Local Council	Cllr. Mel Carr + the Clerk	1 + Clerk
Committee AAP		
CDALC AGM	Cllr Allan Blakemore (Cllr	1 Voting + reserve + Clerk
	John Finlayson as reserve)	
	+ the Clerk	
Citizens Advice Bureau	No invitations were	Invitation to be issued to all Cllrs
	received in 2021/22	if any received during 2021/22
Pubs Partnership	Cllrs. David Brown and	2
	Stephen Winter (Cllr Allan	
	Blakemore as reserve)	
NETPark	Cllr John Finlayson	1
Sedgefield Charities	"The Sedgefield District Relief In Need Charity" and "The Howle Hope Estate" Board - Cllrs Allan Blakemore and David Brown	To re-affirm existing Town Council appointed Trustees — "The Sedgefield District Relief In Need Charity" and "The Howle Hope Estate" Board — 2 "The Educational Foundation Board" — 2
	"The Educational Foundation Board" - Cllrs Ann Carr and Mavis Wayman	(Note: Terms of office for all Town Council nominated Trustees last for four year term with each expiring in May 2025)
Sedgefield Development Trust		1
Sedgefield in Bloom	Cllr Allan Nicholson (with	All invited and to appoint 1 Bloom
	Cllr Mel Carr taking on	Champion to liaise between the
	Champion role following	Bloom Group and Town Council
	Cllr Nicholson's	
	resignation)	
Sedgefield 700+		Open to all Cllrs
Staff Complaints	6 (all members of	6 (to comprise of all members of
	Personnel Committee)	Personnel Committee)

	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore,
	Mark Cant, Ann Carr, Julie
	Towler, Alf Walton and
	Mavis Wayman.
Staff Appeals	Cllrs Mel Carr, John 7 (to comprise of all non-
	Finlayson, Catherine Hart, Personnel Committee members)
	Paul Heasman, Allan
	Nicholson, Jimmy Seymour
	and Stephen Winter.
Larger Local Councils	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, 2 + Clerk
	John Finlayson + the Clerk.

# **Current Working Groups**

	Committee	Previous Members
Butterwick Road	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr,
Cemetery		Allan Nicholson, Julie Towler and Alf Walton
Estates	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, John Finlayson, Allan Nicholson, Julie Towler, Alf Walton and Mavis Wayman
Policy & Records  Management	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Alf Walton and Mavis Wayman
Finance	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, David Brown, Mel Carr, John Finlayson, Catherine Hart, Dave Jasper and Alf Walton
Fireworks	CD&E	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Alf Walton and Mavis Wayman