

You are hereby summoned to attend the Annual General Meeting of the Sedgefield Town Council which is to be held at 7 pm on Monday 13<sup>th</sup> May 2024, in the Sedgefield

Parish Hall

# Agenda

- 1. Election of Chairman of Sedgefield Town Council
- 2. Declaration of Acceptance of Office To receive the Acceptance of Office from the newly elected Chairman of the Town Council.
- 3. Apologies
- 4. Election of the Vice-Chairman of the Town Council
- 5. Election of the Mayor of the Town Council
- 6. To confirm the Chairman's Allowance as £1,100 for 2024/25 (In pursuance of Section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972)

#### 7. Procedures

- a) To adopt
  - i) Standing Orders for 2024/25
  - ii) Financial Regulations 2024/25
  - iii) Delegation Scheme 2024/25
  - iv) Council Debt Policy 2024/25
  - v) Gifts and Hospitality Policy 2024/25
  - vi) Code of Conduct 2024/25
- b) To re-affirm usage of the General Power of Competence (General Power of Competence (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012)

#### 8. Committees

- a) Policy & Resources (P&R) Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:
- b) Environment Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:

- c) Community Development & Engagement Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:
- d) Sedgefield Extra Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:
- e) Community Chest Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:
- f) Personnel Chairman: Vice-Chairman: Members:
- 9. Representatives to External Groups and Organizations (as over)
- 10. To confirm the current and proposed Working Groups
- 11. To approve the dates and times of the meetings for the forthcoming year
- 12. Nomination For Honorary Freeman and Honorary Freewoman Report by Cllrs Allan Blakemore and Mel Carr

T. J. ayre.

Town Clerk: 4th May 2023

External Body	Representatives in	Representatives for 2024/25
	2023/24	
SCA Executive	Cllr. Allan Blakemore	1
Sedgefield Twinning Assoc.	Cllrs. Stephen Winter and	2
	Mavis Wayman	(Note: The Association had been
		due to disband in 2023/24)
Crime Prevention / N. Watch	Cllrs Kelly Dickerson, Dave	Crime Prevention /
	Jasper and Mavis Wayman	Neighbourhood Watch was
	(with reserve representative	disbanded during 2023/24.
	Stephen Winter to attend	
	when able).	
EDRC Local Council	Cllr. Mel Carr + the Clerk	1 + Clerk
Committee AAP		
CDALC AGM	Cllr Allan Blakemore (Cllr	1 Voting + reserve + Clerk
	John Finlayson as reserve)	
	+ the Clerk	
Citizens Advice Bureau	No invitations were	Invitation to be issued to all Cllrs
	received in 2022/23	if any received during 2024/25
Pubs Partnership	Cllrs. David Brown and	2
	Stephen Winter (Cllr Allan	
	Blakemore as reserve)	
NETPark	Cllr John Finlayson	1
Sedgefield Charities	"The Sedgefield District	To re-affirm existing Town
	Relief In Need Charity" and "The Howle Hope Estate"	Council appointed Trustees – "The Sedgefield District Relief In
	Board - Clirs Allan	Need Charity" and "The Howle
	Blakemore and David	Hope Estate" Board – 2
	Brown	"The Educational Foundation Board" – 2
	"The Educational	
	Foundation Board" - Cllrs	(Note: Terms of office for all
	Ann Carr and Mavis Wayman	Town Council nominated Trustees last for four year term
	Wayman	with each expiring in May 2025)
Sedgefield Development Trust	Cllr Mel Carr	1
Sedgefield in Bloom	Open to all Cllrs with Cllr	All invited and to appoint 1 Bloom
	Mel Carr holding the role of	Champion to liaise between the
	Bloom Champion liaising	Bloom Group and Town Council
	between the Bloom Group	
	and Town Council.	

Sedgefield 700+	Open to all Cllrs with	Open to all Cllrs
_	meetings of the Group now	
	likely to be by exception.	
	Cllr Allan Blakemore to	
	continue to act as Chair as	
	required.	
Staff Complaints	6 (all members of	6 (to comprise of all members of
	Personnel Committee)	Personnel Committee)
	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore,	
	Jenny Haworth, Ann Carr,	
	John Finlayson, Julie	
	Towler and Mavis Wayman.	
Staff Appeals	Cllrs Mark Cant, Mel Carr,	7 (to comprise of all non-
	Kelly Dickerson, Elizabeth	Personnel Committee members)
	Flanagan, Catherine Hart,	
	Dave Jasper and Stephen	
	Winter.	
Larger Local Councils	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore,	2 + Clerk
	John Finlayson + the Clerk.	

## **Current Working Groups**

	Committee	Previous Members
Butterwick Road	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr,
Cemetery		Kelly Dickerson, John Finlayson and Julie Towler
Estates	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Kelly Dickerson, John Finlayson, Dave Jasper, Julie Towler and Mavis Wayman
Policy & Records Management	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Jenny Haworth and Mavis Wayman
Finance	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, David Brown, Mel Carr, John Finlayson, Catherine Hart, Jenny Haworth and Dave Jasper
Fireworks	CD&E	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Dave Jasper, Mavis Wayman and Stephen Winter

### **Current Town Council Champions:**

Sedgefield In Bloom Champion – Cllr Mel Carr Sedgefield Parish Hall Champion – Cllr John Finlayson Allotments Champion – Cllr Kelly Dickerson