

You are hereby summoned to attend the Annual General Meeting of Sedgefield Town Council which is to be held at 7pm on Monday 19th May 2025 in Sedgefield Parish Hall



AGENDA

- 1. Election of Chairman of Sedgefield Town Council
- 2. Declaration of Acceptance of Office To receive the Acceptance of Office from the newly elected Chairman of the Town Council
- 3. Apologies
- 4. Election of the Vice-Chairman of the Town Council
- 5. Election of the Mayor of the Town Council
- 6. To confirm the Chairman's Allowance as £1,100 for 2025/26 (In pursuance of Section 15 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972)
- 7. Procedures
 - a. To adopt
 - i. Standing Orders for 2025/26
 - ii. Financial Regulations 2025/26
 - iii. Delegation Scheme 2025/26
 - iv. Council Debt Policy 2025/26
 - v. Gifts and Hospitality Policy 2025/26
 - vi. Code of Conduct 2025/26

b. To affirm usage of the General Power of Competence

(General Power of Competence (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012)

8. Committees

a. Policy & Resources (P&R)

Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:

b. Environment

Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:

c. Community Development & Engagement

Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:

d. Sedgefield Extra

Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:

e. Community Chest

- Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:
- f. Personnel Chairman: Vice-Chair: Members:
- 9. Representatives to External Groups and Organizations (as over)
- 10. To confirm the current and proposed Working Groups
- 11. To approve the dates and times of meetings for the forthcoming year
- 12. To nominate Honorary Freeman

T. J. ayre.

Dr Jane Ayre, Town Clerk, 12 May 2025

External Body	Representatives in 2024/25	Representatives for 2025/26
SCA Executive	Cllr. Allan Blakemore	1
Local Network Panel A – Aycliffe and Sedgefield	None (Note: Local Networks will replace former AAPs with effect from 1 st April 2025)	1
CDALC AGM	Cllr Allan Blakemore (Cllr John Finlayson as reserve) + the Clerk	1 Voting + reserve + Clerk
Citizens Advice Bureau	No invitations were received in 2024/25	Invitation to be issued to all Cllrs if any received during 2025/26
Pubs Partnership	Cllrs. David Brown and Allan Blakemore	2
NETPark	Cllr John Finlayson	1
Sedgefield Charities	"The Sedgefield District Relief In Need Charity" and "The Howle Hope Estate" Board - Cllrs Allan Blakemore and David Brown "The Educational Foundation Board" - Cllrs Ann Carr and Mavis Wayman	Town Council appointed Trustees – "The Sedgefield District Relief In Need Charity" and "The Howle Hope Estate" Board – 2 (see attached Relief In Need Charity – Trustee Role Description) "The Educational Foundation Board" – 2 (Note: Terms of office for all Town Council nominated Trustees last for four year term with each expiring in May 2029)
Sedgefield Development Trust	Cllr Mel Carr	1
Sedgefield in Bloom	Open to all Cllrs with Cllr Mel Carr holding the role of Bloom Champion liaising between the Bloom Group and Town Council.	All invited and to appoint 1 Bloom Champion to liaise between the Bloom Group and Town Council
Sedgefield 700+	Open to all Cllrs with meetings of the Group now likely to be by exception. Cllr Allan Blakemore to continue to act as Chair as required.	Open to all Cllrs
Staff Complaints	6 (all members of Personnel Committee)	6 (to comprise of all members of Personnel Committee)

	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Jenny Haworth, Ann Carr, John Finlayson, Julie Towler and Mavis Wayman.	
Staff Appeals	Cllrs Mark Cant, Mel Carr, Kelly Dickerson, Elizabeth Flanagan, Catherine Hart, Peter Hinde and Dave Jasper.	7 (to comprise of non- Personnel Committee members)
Larger Local Councils	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, John Finlayson + the Clerk.	2 + Clerk

Current Working Groups

	Committee	Previous Members
Butterwick Road Cemetery	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Kelly Dickerson, John Finlayson and Julie Towler
Estates	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Kelly Dickerson, John Finlayson, Dave Jasper, Julie Towler and Mavis Wayman
Policy & Records Management	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Jenny Haworth and Mavis Wayman
Finance	P&R	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, David Brown, Mel Carr, John Finlayson, Jenny Haworth and Dave Jasper
Fireworks	CD&E	Cllrs. Allan Blakemore, Ann Carr, Mel Carr, Kelly Dickerson, Peter Hinde, Dave Jasper and Mavis Wayman.

Current Town Council Champions:

- Sedgefield In Bloom Champion Cllr Mel Carr
- Sedgefield Parish Hall Champions Cllr John Finlayson and Cllr Elizabeth Flanagan
- Allotments Champion Cllr Kelly Dickerson